listen to this

I got hooked on the podcast Serial last fall. My millennial son told me about it which seemed intriguing since you just listen to a podcast. No graphics, nothing fancy, just listening, not something that I thought would appeal to millennials…who knew?!

Season 1 of Serial, was produced by public radio’s “This American Life,” and re-examines the 1999 murder of Hae Min Lee, a Maryland teenager, that resulted in the conviction of Adnan Syed, her former boyfriend.  It is compelling listening, so much so that I often found myself sitting in the car at my destination just so I could finish an episode.

The same millennial son just informed me that Season Two of Serial is available. It is about Bowe Bergdahl, a U.S. soldier who had been a prisoner of the Taliban for nearly five years. I just downloaded it and can’t wait to get in the car tomorrow and start listening. I like the car for the total immersion it provides me – no distractions (other than the other cars on the road!) just focused listening.

Another podcast that has got my attention lately is Happier with Gretchen Rubin. A quick, smart production about habits and happiness done by two sisters.

Tiny Desk Concerts are fun to have on your playlist. Described on the NPR website as intimate video performances, recorded live at the desk of All Songs Considered host Bob Boilen.

Once you get started, you keep finding more. That same millennial son sent me a link to a Huffington Post list of Great Podcasts for Road Trips and Long Weekend Traffic Jams. Take a look and see what interests you. Let us know what you are listening to!

HAR

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “listen to this

  1. Karen L

    Thanks for some new podcast suggestions, but what I need to know now is … what’s that handy dandy looking leather piece that is keeping your headphones from a tangled mess?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

