sunday soup

In the winter, I often make soup on Sunday to fill the freezer with lunch-sized portions.

Just before the holidays, I tried a new take on squash soup. My go to is curry with apple and always wine. But I mixed it up with Butternut Bisque from Simply in Season, one of the best seasonal cookbooks I know.

I used all yogurt for the yogurt/evaporated milk part. And I added just a splash of white wine which apparently wafts through the lunchroom at work as I slowly simmer up the soup at work.

After a tasting sample – to be sure it’s worthy – I freeze it in lunchtime soup-size containers. And cheese is almost always added as a garnish…preferably feta.

CJR

 

Leave a Reply

