colour me calm

Adult colouring books were hot items on this past holiday season gotta have gift list.

coloured pencils 2

I have seen the computer-generated flowers and intricate designs that are supposed to be as good for you as yoga. They don’t really do it for me – kind of sterile and predictable.

But it was the one my brother got at Christmas that just might have got the meditative colouring hook in me.

Fantastic Cities is a beautifully sketched book of cities all around the world by Ontario artist Steve McDonald . I watched my brother go zen-like with his row of perfectly sharpened pencils as he filled in architectural details of rooftops in Germany and windowsills in Manhattan. He even humoured me, taking a break and letting me have a go when his fingers got tired.

At first, colouring within the lines felt like cheating or regressing from the sketching I’ve been doing over the last year or two where I actually have to draw and paint the images I create. But there I was, happily lost in the repetitive motion. As I held my nose to the page to differentiate fine details in the sketch, I realized I was also learning more about the art of sketching. The proportions, the angles and the layering.

I’ve started a sketch-a-day “challenge” for myself in 2016. And now, I’m waiting for Amazon to deliver my new set of pencils and my very own copy of Fantastic Cities.

Between colouring, sketching and weekly yoga, the mellowness may be overwhelming.

CJR

 

2 thoughts on “colour me calm

  1. whatimdoingthesedays

    Glad to hear that you’re doing a sketch a day challenge! I’ve been trying to sketch every day too. Sometimes the hardest part if figuring out what to sketch! I have a lot of sketches of my coffee cups and paraphernalia. Good luck!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

