fridge frittata

I make one of these almost every week.

There is inevitably a night when I don’t know what to eat, and have various items approaching compostable state in the fridge. (But I am definitely trying to throw out less food to help bring down the ridiculously high rate of food waste.)

That usually means it is time for fridge frittata.

I saute any combination of vegetables – mushrooms, green onion, broccoli, asparagus, leftover roasted root vegetables – in a pan that can go in the oven. If I am lucky there is some bacon or back bacon waiting to be used up too. Cooked pasta makes it even hardier. Just open the fridge door and look around.

I add a few beatened up eggs, usually with a little pepper, and pour that over the softened veggies et al. When everything is just about set…I top with the most important ingredient – cheese. Feta, grated cheddar, gruyere, whatever partial block you have hanging around.

Broil the whole bit until the eggs have finished cooking (no jiggling) and the cheese is bubbling and golden. If you are organized enough, you can add a green salad and some toast to round it out.

I usually make enough that I cut in pie wedges and freeze for easy breakfasts during the week.

Try one for a dark mid-week winter night.

If you like to follow a recipe, here’s a basic frittata recipe from the Egg Farmers of Canada.

CJR

 

4 thoughts on “fridge frittata

  1. Lee MacKinnon

    Thanks for the reminder of how easy this is on those nights when there is no energy to cook!

    On Wednesday, January 20, 2016, Stuff we love…that you might too wrote:

    > stuffwelove123 posted: “I make one of these almost every week. There is > inevitably a night when I don’t know what to eat, and have various items > approaching compostable state in the fridge. (But I am definitely trying to > throw out less food to help bring down the ridiculo” >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

