back to brown rice

Winter isn’t over yet, but we’ve had hints of the warmer, lighter weather to come.

That’s got me thinking about how the food I make also changes with the season. In winter, I love having homemade soup that I’ve made on the weekend, frozen in little containers for workday lunches.

But I’m ready for a change. And I think brown rice might be the answer. I love the taste and often shy away because it takes 45 minutes to cook. But on a weekend, I can always find the time to make it while the rest of the meal is marinating or baking.

I made brown rice tonight to go with some trout and kale salad. And the leftover will become a great hardy salad that combines the woodsy chew of the rice, grated carrots, green onions, probably some feta and a little dressing. I might add some of the leftover trout in for extra protein, or cooked chicken, hardboiled egg or leftover baked sausage bit.

Stack it all in a wide mouthed jar for lunch that tastes and looks great.

Here’s a greek salad with brown rice,

And some great salad in a jar recipes.

What do you make to mark the coming spring season?

CJR

Leave a Reply

