make mine maple

sapI think the best thing we “grew” on our hobby farm was maple syrup. We tapped about 1,000 trees, had a farm retail market and served up pancakes and maple syrup, maple butter on fresh tea biscuits, and made endless batches of maple sugar.

The sap is running and it always makes me nostalgic about the season. Thankfully I have friends who tap a few trees on their farm – so I can get a fix and some pictures (thanks JM).

Syrup season has us thinking about all the ways we love to use maple syrup.

Top a salad with this dressing – 1 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 1 tsp mustard powder, 1 garlic clove, 1-2 Tbsp maple syrup, salt and pepper, fresh herbs (basil, oregano, dill).

Sweeten a smoothie – I add a glug of syrup to a banana/yogurt/spinach/milk/frozen blueberry smoothie.

Maple butter medicine by the spoonful – I have just a few jars in the frig in case of emergency.

For a salmon marinade – check out our recipe here

Try a maple leaf cocktail – 2 oz bourbon, 1/2 oz maple syrup, 1/2 oz lemon juice. Shake over ice.

And top off a latte or add to coffee.

CJR

9 thoughts on “make mine maple

  1. Lynn Haley

    This takes me back to my childhood in Quebec when maple syrup was an integral ingredient in our kitchen! I still use it in salad dressings and maple butter on salmon. Thank you for a happy nostalgia! Lynn

    Like

    Reply
  2. Patricia

    I have lots of good memories of harvesting maple syrup at the farm on sunny spring days. Although when I was little I didn’t really like maple syrup (?) and I was afraid to tell my big gruff uncle!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

