meddling with muffin recipes

For years, I’ve made the same muffin. When I find a recipe that works, and I like, I tend to stick with it. I also tend to adapt it just a little, with what I usually have on hand. Customizing it for my kitchen, I guess.

Anne Lindsay’s Oat Bran Banana Raisin Muffins from her 2003 New Lighthearted Cookbook ¬†had been my go to. Of course, I renamed them blueberry, bran and banana muffins. I substituted wheat bran for the oat bran, blueberries for the raisins, and kept the banana part. I wrote about them here.

Recently, I flipped to the next page in the well-worn book to the Oatmeal-Carrot Muffins. They’ve become a new favourite to bake and freeze for mid-week breakfasts.

In large bowl, pour 1 cup buttermilk (or yogurt) over 1 cup oats. Stir to mix, cover for 10 minutes.

Mix together 1 cup grated carrot, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup canola oil, 1 egg and rind of one orange. Stir into oat mixture.

In separate bowl, stir together 1 cup flour (white, whole wheat or combo), 1/4 cup white sugar, 2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt and 3/4 cup raisins.

Stir into carrot/oat mixture until just moist. Fill large muffins tins. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 400 F.

CJR

4 thoughts on “meddling with muffin recipes

  1. Pingback: finding a routine, again | Stuff we love…that you might too

  2. Pingback: sunday mornings | Stuff we love…that you might too

Leave a Reply

