kale two ways

I’m trying to get back into summer salads. I love to eat them. Just need a little nudge every year about this time to find a recipe, do the shopping and mixing…for a bowl of crunchy, tasty goodness.

With fresh, local baby kale in hand, I found this Kale, Carrot and Apple Salad recipe. I always improvise and for this recipe, I grated the carrot and added feta at the end. Always a great idea for any salad.

And this Raw Kale Slaw is delicious too.

Trim centre rib from one bunch of kale, stack leaves and cut into this strips. Place in large bowl and toss with 1/2 cup olive oil, 3 tbsp red wine vinegar, 1 clove garlic (chopped), 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 pine nuts (toasted) and 1/2 cup sundried tomatoes (chopped).

Let salad stand at room temperature for 15 minutes to allow flavours time to blend and kale to soften. Finish with freshly grated parmesan cheese (or feta).

CJR

 

 

2 thoughts on “kale two ways

  1. Liz

    Thanks to you guys, we loooooove salad #2. I stole it from Heather, then my roommate stole it from me, and now it’s making its mark all around the greater Boston area.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

