friday favourite – wandering inside the words

I have been writing marketing and advertising words for more than 25 years. But I’m pretty sure no one has ever wanted to get right inside anything I’ve written – hanging on the next word, wondering where the advertising message would take them. And that’s okay…I wouldn’t expect them to.

That’s why I especially love when I find books that make me want to climb right inside them. I admire and marvel at the craft of writing.

IMG_9088

I just read one I couldn’t put down – wandering through the wilderness with the four lost hikers in Lori Lansens’ The Mountain Story. It’s my friday favourite.

Maybe it’s the hiker in me that identifies with stories like this. But I’m pretty sure it’s much more than that. It’s the carefully crafted combination of everyday words that has me living and breathing and gasping with the characters.

What’s the last book you read that you couldn’t put down?

CJR

4 thoughts on “friday favourite – wandering inside the words

Leave a Reply

