cold cucumber soup

There comes a point in the growing season when you can hardly give away your produce fast enough. It doesn’t seem to happen to me, but luckily I was the recipient of seven large cucumbers from a friend who had too many. What do you do with seven cucumbers?! I started googling cold cucumber soup and found endless versions of it. I chose this one.img_4982

Ingredients:

  • 5 cucumbers
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 6 scallions chopped (I used red onion)
  • 2 T chopped, fresh dill (I didn’t have any so I skipped it)
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (I used lime since I always have it on hand for G&Ts)
  • 1 quart buttermilk & 1 pint yogurt (I mixed yogurt with skim milk since I didn’t have buttermilk)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Peel cucumbers, cut them in half, scrape out the seeds. Sprinkle the cucumbers with salt and let them stand 30 minutes. Drain excess water. Chop the cucumbers coarsely and put in the blender along with parsley, scallions, dill, lemon juice, buttermilk and yogurt. Blend at high speed. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Chill well before serving.

It doesn’t look very pretty but it tasted delicious. Really fresh and tangy and quick!

HAR

2 thoughts on “cold cucumber soup

  1. Patricia

    I have a nearly identical recipe that I make every summer (mine also has some soup stock in it). Just made it this week. Easy and delicious, as you said. And so refreshing on a hot day like this one.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

