friday favourite – Armand Gamache

He’s not real, but he totally comes to life on the pages of my Friday favourite – the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series of crime novels by Canadian author Louise Penny. If you ever watched Foyle’s War – for me, the two lead characters share much of the same charm.

20160922_175019_resized

I think there are 12 in the series. I am working through them in order – I’ve just started #8 The Beautiful Mystery. It’s worth the discipline and the waiting as I reserve them from my local library.

It might get a little old and tiring for some, I guess, but I love how the characters in the fictitious Quebec town of Three Pines make up the cast in varying degrees in every novel.

Cooler weather is coming…snuggle in with Armand.

CJR

8 thoughts on “friday favourite – Armand Gamache

  1. Lynn Haley

    I absolutely love this series. Feels like being home in the Eastern Townships where I spent Much of my childhood. Lynn

    Get Outlook for iOS

    Like

    Reply
  2. Karen L

    My cousin is a huge Gamache fan. She’s always chomping at the bit for the next one to come out. I read the first two in the series, but haven’t found time to read any others due to my book club reading commitments. I hope to get back to Three Pines soon!

    Like

    Reply
      1. Karen L

        One book that we all enjoyed this year was The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto (Mitch Albom). We are reading Homegoing (Yaa Gyasi) this month … also a good read!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

