falling for it

One of my favourite sappy movies is You’ve Got Mail. There’s a line in it that I think of this time of year – “Don’t you just love New York in the fall?”

Well it’s not New York, and I don’t see Tom Hanks anywhere in the neighbourhood…but I love fall in southern Ontario. The sweet scent of ripening apples. Morning dew on the grass. The extra weight of the duvet on the bed. Yes, even long pants and socks.

I don’t think I could live in a climate without four distinct seasons. Each one is just long enough.

Fall for me means hauling out all my knitting projects that were cast aside during the summer humidity, cooking soups and stews and meatloaf, making apple crisp (for breakfast!), rediscovering all my winter sweaters, switching from white wine back to red, and hiking through the autumn colours.

What’s on your list for fall?

CJR

 

2 thoughts on “falling for it

Leave a Reply

