food for friends

Most nights, I’m cooking for one but I love to make enough to share. I always make enough for leftovers but there is something entirely more satisfying about making a meal that can be shared and savoured with other people. Even if I’m not at the table.

I’ve been cooking for a friend for a little while. A meal (or two) a week to help get everybody fed quickly in between school and endless evening lessons. It puts a smile on my face every time I do it. I try out new recipes than will hopefully be a hit with younger palates, and keep the ingredients in the general arena of kid-friendly.

Some of the recipe favourites (that you might like too) are farmers sausage baked with BBQ sauce, maple syrup and apple chunks, sweet and sour meatballs (baked not fried), any variation on homemade mac and cheese (sometimes with broccoli, often with bacon), and even tater tot casserole.

It’s getting cold and dark and I know winter is coming. These homemade meals have even more appeal as we get ready for pseudo hibernation.

What’s your favourite meal to share?

CJR

One thought on “food for friends

Leave a Reply

