downloading library books

I knew that the library loaned iPads and DVDs and books on CDs but I hadn’t really paid attention to downloading audio books. A few weeks ago I sat down and opened my public library’s website and did some research about audio and eBooks. It wasn’t difficult and it didn’t take long for me to discover that I needed to download an app called OverDrive and then sign in with my library card.

I downloaded OverDrive and borrowed Laura Lippman’s After I’m Gone. I spent a lot of time in the car this week and thoroughly enjoyed listening to the story while driving. I kept listening on Saturday while I did errands and household chores and finally sat down to really focus on the last chapter!

As soon as it ended I logged back in and downloaded another one. The coolest thing is the books return themselves when the 14 day loan period expires!

Who knew?! What a gift. Yet another reason to support your local library.

HAR

4 thoughts on “downloading library books

  1. whatimdoingthesedays

    I just listened to Hamilton (abridged) and No Ordinary Time on overdrive from the library! Such a great way to make some progress on my reading list! And I found that if I changed a setting I could keep them for three weeks instead of two.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

