pure vanilla extract

I love vanilla. Pure vanilla extract. I use it in baking, in my granola recipe, when making oatmeal and in hot milk. There used to be a Williams and Sonoma Outlet store an hour from me and I would always stock up on vanilla when I made it there. The outlet store closed and I was back to wincing as I paid $20 for a bottle. When we were in Mexico in November I bought a few bottles of vanilla to get me through my holiday baking but was just starting to think about re-stocking. And then in my inbox was Smitten Kitchen with her recipe for making your own vanilla extract. I have never heard of this or even considered it. That same day I received a catalogue from King Arthur Flour advertising a make-your-own-vanilla kit.

With very little research I found a wealth of information about making vanilla extract. I ordered some vanilla beans from Beanilla and followed their recipe.

fullsizerender

I sliced open 6 vanilla beans and put them in an 8oz bottle and added 1 cup of vodka. That’s it! I shook it around, wrote the date on it and now wait 6-8 weeks for my vanilla.

img_6446

I will let you know how it tastes in February!

HAR

4 thoughts on “pure vanilla extract

  1. acc

    oh yes, the late lamented Williams Sonoma outlet in Wrentham. I usually buy my vanilla at Costco where you can get a big bottle pretty cheap and fortunately it’s something that lasts… I have never been very successful in getting a good vanilla flavor from things like putting vanilla beans in sugar to make vanilla sugar, or using the seeds, So i’ll be interested in how this turns out!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

