a small serving of spring soup

My sister gave me a great cookbook a few years ago – The Pleasures of Cooking for One by Judith Jones. Its small size reflects the smaller-serving meals that fill the pages.

I’ve been playing with variations of the basic vegetable soup recipe. I used to try and make soup by just throwing stuff together…and that’s what it often ended up tasting like. This recipe has the basics, and I can build from that and end up with a great, simple soup.

I made one last week, sauteeing the vegetables I could find in the fridge in a little butter. I often buy a small container of cut up veggies because I can get a variety of about six different veggies in a few servings, and these make great additions to the soup.

So I sautéed green onion, celery, carrot, broccoli and cauliflower. Tossed in a few roasted peppers I had baked a few days before. Everything simmers in some chicken stock, and I toss in a few frozen spinach pucks, a little cream and lemon/lime juice or white wine to finish it off.

CJR

2 thoughts on “a small serving of spring soup

  1. Deborah Sloane

    I’m cooking for one these days ( or not!) so thank you for this! Xo On Wed, Apr 26, 2017 at 6:05 AM Stuff we love…that you might too wrote:

    > stuffwelove123 posted: “My sister gave me a great cookbook a few years ago > – The Pleasures of Cooking for One by Judith Jones. It’s small size > reflects the smaller-serving meals that fill the pages. I’ve been playing > with variations of the basic vegetable soup recipe. I used ” >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

