layered vegetable torte

If you pay attention to the initials at the end of each blog, you will notice that mine (HAR) have been mostly absent. CJR has been carrying the load and it’s time for me to step up and get inspired to cook again.

I started by actually reading those emails I receive from cooking.nytimes.com! This one for layered vegetable torte caught my eye. It doesn’t look difficult, but slightly time consuming. You do need to grill the vegetables first and then layer them in a springform pan but it seems like a pleasant Saturday afternoon task to ask my husband to grill while I mix drinks.

I’ll let you read the specific directions in the link above but the general idea is to layer grilled eggplant, zucchini and portobello mushrooms with fresh basil and garlic and top it all off with some bread crumbs, plum tomatoes and Parmesan. It bakes for 30 minutes and can be served hot or at room temperature. Here’s what it’s going to look like when I make it on Saturday!

torte-still-superJumbo

HAR

One thought on “layered vegetable torte

Leave a Reply

