can’t. stop. canning.

Tis the season for a lot of fresh local produce…and I just keep looking for more things to preserve. It’s so satisfying – in a whole different way than cooking a meal – to make something that I can eat or share all year long.

Maybe I should have been born before refrigeration.

This week it’s been more raspberry jam. Bread and butter pickles. And zucchini relish – which I don’t even like but am so happy to make it on request for someone else. I’m waiting for some fresh apricots to ripen a little more to make them into jam.

I’m slowly getting the tools I should have had all along to avoid hot water bath burns and the inevitable cursing when I try and remove a mason jar with simple tongs.

CJR

 

One thought on “can’t. stop. canning.

  1. deb

    Looks delicious! I think I’ll let you do the preserving and I’ll do the eating!! Give one to HAR for me unless we can plan a visit!!! Cape Cod in the autum is quite nice!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

